I think that social media is an integral part of my personal and professional development. Social media connects people so easily through a lot of different types of networks such as Sport, Entertainment or Political networks. People can join up to social networks and find people who have the same interests and thoughts as themselves. With relation to producing media, social media is a great platform to put my work on and to get my work out into the open world as the Internet is a vast place and everyone uses the Internet whether it is for personal or professional use or both.

Social media can also affect my work in the sense of it affecting how I decide to produce media. You can find out many ways to produce media just from what you see on Twitter or Facebook because of how easy information is shared. I could see something and decide to do my own take on that for example, The Cinnamon Challenge had millions of people trying to swallow cinnamon as challenge, they would record it and upload it to YouTube, Facebook etc. for fun, for something to do or to just garner a large internet following. Vlogger’s are another example of this or aspiring rappers/singers who want to be recognized doing covers of mainstream songs to be noticed.

Creating a professional ID has and will continue to up my game as I continue to go through a phase of self-branding to position myself in the world of media so when people click on my Facebook, Twitter, Vimeo, WordPress or YouTube accounts they know they can expect me and my ‘brand’ of produced media products, having some sort of professional online identity is very important to me and I think it’s importance will grow as we progress through this digital age.

The digital age